THE HALL OF RECORDS

The Hall of Records of Maryland was built as a part of the tercentenary celebration of the landing of the Ark and the Dove. It is located in Annapolis on the corner of College Avenue and St. John's Street. It is controlled and supervised by the Hall of Records Commission which was created by Chapter 18, Acts of 1935, and which is composed ex-officio of the Governor, the Comptroller of the Treasury, the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals, the Presidents of the St. John's College, the Maryland Historical Society, the Board of the Peabody Institute, and the Johns Hopkins University. The present members of the Hall of Records Commission are Governor William Preston Lane, Jr., the Honorable James J. Lacy, Judge Ogle Marbury, Chairman, Mr. John S. Kieffer, Senator George L. Radcliffe, Dr. J. Hall Pleasants, and Dr. Isaiah Bowman.

Every state, county, city, town, or other public official in Maryland is authorized to deposit in the Hall of Records, any original papers, official books, records, documents, files, newspapers, printed books, or portraits not in use. He is required to deposit all records in his custody created before the date of the adoption of the Federal Constitution by Maryland, April 28, 1788. The Hall of Records will furnish for a small fee photostat, typewritten or microfilm copies of any documents in its custody. All the materials at the Hall of Records are available for use by the public in the Search Room of the Hall of Records subject to such regulations for their safekeeping as have been adopted by the Hall of Records Commission. Inquiries received by mail will be answered if the research required is confined to the use of our extensive indexes; however, no family lines will be traced, nor will any record be evaluated for genealogical purposes.